Did you know about Prop K?

5 11 2008

Well, the election is over, Obama is the President Elect and Prop 8 has passed.  While I do not agree with Obama’s positions on many issues, I am very pleased that Californian’s stood up for morals, children, and rational thought on Prop 8.

If you ask any person walking down the street “What modern city most closely resembles Sodom and Gomorrah?”  What do you think the most common answer would be?  My money would be on San Francisco, which is why I am somewhat surprised that Prop K (a local San Fran proposition) did not pass.  It came close, 43% of Bay Area voters actually thought that it should pass.

Pathetic, soon they will be marching saying "Pedophile rights = human rights"

What is Prop K… well it would have made prostitution legal of course.

That’s right, the Bay Area was 7 percentage points away from protecting prostitutes, hookers and pimps from the police, and making prostitution a valid career choice.  Shocked?  Me too.  I am just glad that they had the common sense (well only 57% of them) to vote against this.

“Sexworkers rights = Human rights”, pathetic.  Soon they will be marching holding signs that say “Druglord rights = human rights” or “Pedophile rights = human rights”.  People, not everything is a right!  You do not have “the right” to go shoot somebody… even if you really really want to.

You can read about Prop K here: http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2008/10/05/BAQ01387OA.DTL

and here: http://abclocal.go.com/kgo/story?section=news/local/san_francisco&id=6465279

Actions

Information

11 responses

5 11 2008
Todd

What makes San Francisco worse than Las Vegas, where prostitution is already currently legal (at least practically speaking)? After all, it’s already known as Sin City.

I happen to like San Francisco.

5 11 2008
chadabshier

I think that the rampant homosexuality, sexual sin, STD’s and prostitution in San Francisco is more than enough to compare it to Sodom and Gomorrah. You can compare it to Las Vegas if you want to (Las Vegas could probably give San Francisco a run for its money as the most sinful city), I don’t really care… but this post is about how close San Francisco came to legalizing prostitution.

5 11 2008
Jason

I hear that Irvine doesn’t allow homeless on their streets, I only have word of mouth to back that up, but if this is true I would venture to say that Irvine is in equal running with both Frisco and Vegas for most like Sodom and Gomorrah. Irvine’s sin? Lack of hospitality.

Todd, that was no attack on you at all, and I could be completely wrong about the homeless thing, I’m just pointing out later prophetic interpretation of Sodom and Gomorrah’s sins as being a lack of hospitality. Granted, that reading happens in light of the exodus, but still, interesting point. Man I’m so off topic.

Chad, sorry if it seems like I’m always against you, I’m not against your views (mostly), I’m just trying to supply another view. Hopefully usually Biblical.

5 11 2008
Todd

Jason, you’re definitely right about Irvine keeping the homeless out. I haven’t seen any homeless people in my year here. Some argue that this is what helps keep Irvine the safest city in America (for populations larger than 100,000). I’m not sure if that’s true or not.

I guess my reason for giving the Vegas example was to show that this proposition wouldn’t be without precedence – not that I think prostitution should be legal, just that it wouldn’t be the only place where it is.

Also, I don’t know how constructive or enlightening it is to point out that one city is known for one type of sin, while another is known for a different type (again, the Vegas example was just that – an example). Sin is sin. Every city, town, village, and home is guilty of it. I don’t know if this is the intention or not, but singling out San Francisco makes it seem as though other cities are less sinful, when we’re all the same (except for maybe Mike Falgout; I believe he’s been living free of sin for a little while now).

However, I do suppose that I can do my part to make the place where I live more hospitable, so I do appreciate your words in that regard.

Peace guys.

6 11 2008
chadabshier

Yes, I do believe that other cities are less sinful than San Francisco, and that was exactly the reason why I posted about this. The fact that they nearly legalized prostitution and that roughly 90,000 people voted to make prostitution a valid career shows how sinful and corrupt that city really is.

6 11 2008
Todd

Well, I guess that’s where we disagree.

6 11 2008
Emily

I happen to like San Francisco also.
I think we would all agree that 90,000 people voted on the side of sin on Prop K, but I don’t know what kind of badgering/deceiving/campaigning surrounded that proposition. Many people probably voted that way: to eliminate a feeling of guilt at the way they live; misguided by the propaganda surrounding the issue; more sympathetic to the humans involved than they were opposed to the “career choice?”
I would have to assume that SF has an attitude of love the person, ignore/hate what they do. Not a bad attitude to have, in my opinion, but it doesn’t mean we should make legal the things that they want to do in order to support the persons involved.
Clearly a lot of people (43% I believe) voted on the side that we say is sinful. Happens a lot all over California, to different degrees, including being inhospitable. I would not like to see how the people in SD would vote yes on that, and I would not like to see what side of people would come out if we were subjected to such a campaign. People here would vote yes on such a thing… how many would it be?
I do think it’s important to make each other aware of what tactics the devil is using in the battle, because it’s him we are against, not the people in Frisco, or the people here who would vote yes on it, or each other.

7 11 2008
Jason

Some good points Emily, we are definitely not against the people who are the creation which G-d called very good. But I have trouble with, and I know this is a little off topic but at the same time not really, the idea that ‘we should make legal’ anything. I have a really really tough time seeing the Christian witness working properly in the form of the coercive state. G-d gives us a choice to follow or not to follow, and unfortunately the path is narrow. Is it the place of the state to uphold the law’s of G-d? If so, why aren’t we lobbying to make it illegal to do anything but spend time with G-d or help a neighbor on Sunday (or on the Sabbath for that matter)?

I’m sorry if what I wrote is confusing. I’m just laying out some of the ideas that I have trouble with in the whole voting arena.

7 11 2008
Todd

I think I agree with you Emily, that we do need to be aware of how Satan is at work in the world, but I would say that portraying one city, or one group, or one person, or one sinful act as more sinful than another doesn’t serve that purpose. I mean, if we are going to compare one city to Sodom and Gomorrah, we should compare every city to Sodom and Gomorrah, because I’m certain that every city/group/person/sinful act is equally sinful, but it’s just that in some cases the sin may be more visible than in others. In those cases, simply judging the offender is not constructive.

For example, if I’m sure you’ve heard stories about premarital sex happening on PLNU’s campus. Rather than judging people who commit this act, we should try to love them and pray with them to resolve their issues. I believe this is one of the huge differences between PLNU and SDSU or another “party school.” The same sins happen on both campuses, but at PLNU, people attempt to provide an atmosphere where people can resolve their problems, rather than amplify them.

Anyways, my argument is that simply pointing out sinfulness is not really helpful on its own. I guess my problem is that so many people (including myself, at times) view different sins as “worse” than others, so it’s easy to judge others as being “more sinful.” I think we just need to recognize that we are all sinful and do what we can to improve ourselves, rather than tell others how to improve.

8 11 2008
Jason

Good point Todd. We all have our favorite sin to condemn, don’t we?

8 11 2008
Neil

43%? Wow. Hadn’t even heard that was on the ballot.

Not terribly surprising though, given what they condone in their gay pride parades (public nudity and all sorts of bizarre behavior – research the Folsom Street Parade and see what the mayor and the folks in Pelosi’s district put up with).

Leave a Reply

