How do you hear God?

24 09 2008

One thing that I have always struggled with as a Christian is when people say “Don’t worry about it, God will tell you what to do.”  I don’t get it.  I have never heard God tell me to buy a certain car, or move to a certain place, and it is hard for me to believe it happens.  Sometimes I just think that following God is to sit back and let your life unfold, but other times I think “what if God wanted me to do (example), but I didn’t because it didn’t unfold seamlessly?”  How do you balance this?

Current life example: Emily and I have been trying to buy a condo for about 2 months now, and we have been unsuccessful.  We have put offers on 3 places and all 3 of them went to other buyers.  Does that mean God was watching out for Emily and me?  That we shouldn’t buy a condo at the moment, even though prices are down and most assuredly going to increase in the short years to come?  Does it mean that we should stop trying, or that the right one simply hasn’t come up yet (the last one really seemed like the “right one”) and we should keep looking?

Actions

Information

5 responses

24 09 2008
Russ

The most amazing thing about the Christian life, as I am sure you know, is that the Christian life is a relationship with God, not a religion. A relationship is by definition, a two-way communication. God speaks to us primarily through His word but He also speaks to our hearts to lead us specifically in the direction He has for us.

We however, must be seeking His specific will for our lives and asking Him to show us what He has for us. When we make our plans, such as buying a condo, etc. we ask God to bless them – but there is a difference between asking God to bless our plans and truly seeking His plan instead of ours.

I am writing this as if I have this “hearing” from God perfected. I don’t. My wife and I have also been looking for a house in Oceanside for 9 months. We have put in offers on at least 5 or 6 properties without success. However, I can honestly say, that I have not had a “peace” about any of the properties that we bid on. I am glad that God has closed the door.

It is one thing to put in an offer on a condo and see if God will “open the door” and give it to you. However, I would honestly hope that if our offer was accepted by the seller that I would not go forward unless there was a “peace” in my heart from the Lord concerning the property. I don’t know how to explain the leading of His Spirit other than that. God gives me a true, unexplained “peace” or “joy” in my heart as I am thinking on my plans. If I do not have His peace, I need to slow down and seek the Lord and make sure that this “thing” I am planning is truly what God has for me and my family.

God has made you the head of your home. Your beautiful new wife is trusting that you that you are truly seeking God’s plan and God’s will for your family in every decision. He has put His Spirit in your heart to lead you and to show you His plan for you and your family. It all begins by asking Him to show you. It begins by saying, “Lord, I am not going to go through with this until you show me that this is your will for me.” If you will ask, He will show you. If you seek His will, He will reveal His will to you – and His plans are soooo much better than ours. God bless you.

If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask Him! [Luke 11:13]

Trust in the LORD with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding;
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct your paths.
Do not be wise in your own eyes;
Fear the LORD and depart from evil. [Prov 3:5-7]

24 09 2008
Jason

I think Russ pretty much has hit it on the head. The word hearing can be dangerous to use today because it implies something auditory. G-d speaks through G-d’s Word, namely Jesus the Christ. Through the Word we are informed, but from the peace of the heart, or the ease of the mind in my case (I believe that the heart or stomach was said to be where intellectual activity too place in first century Judea, but don’t quote me on it) we can tell whether or not G-d is for it or not. One thought I would like to add though, is that as the head of the house you are responsible to see what Emily is getting from G-d too. Let us not forget that patriarchy is a result of the fall, and not that I interpret the creation and fall narratives literally, but, let’s not make the same mistake twice. Get a second feel for what G-d has in mind. Love you man.

25 09 2008
ransom33

I agree that often the best way to know whether our choices and decisions line up with God’s will for our lives is to stop everything we are doing and in quiet prayer and reflection give all our worries and concerns to God. So long as you keep doing that, you will know that the way events unfold in your life will always lead to the best possible outcome, God’s outcome, even if the process you have to go through to get there seems messy and uncertain.

Also, in my own personal life I tend to make my choices and decisions depending on whether, having given it to God, I feel that peace and joy inside that others have talked about in their comments. Pay attention to your dreams too. God communicated with people thorugh dreams in the bible and I firmly believe He continues to do so today. For an example, check my post entitled “a dream come true” on http://www.ransom33.wordpress.com.

God bless you and guide you in every decision you and your family make.

ransom33

25 09 2008
chadabshier

I guess the answer lies in the way you ask the question. “How do you hear God?” implies that one can audibly hear God speak to them. A better question would have been, “How do you listen to God?” This leaves numerous possibilities open for communication (feelings of peace and joy, gentle pushes from your conscience, etc.) which God can utilize in whichever ways He sees fit.

26 09 2008
LN

Love the questions and the answers.

But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness and all these things shall be added unto you. Matt 6:33

Leave a Reply

